|if you are planning to get married in our state, whether it is at the beach or another area
you may obtain your Marriage License at any NC register of deeds.
It is valid for 60 days
and can only be used within the State of North Carolina.
If you are planning on getting married in another state, you will have to research that
states laws and obtain a license in the county of that state.
|It is our policy to promote absolute freedom of religion.
Each person's spirituality has to be developed within themselves... Individually and everyone is
free to draw upon whatever religious tradition and behaviors are most appropriate for their own
unique life and background. I believe that each person should have their own personal
relationship their higher power.
|Nautical Nuptials by Visions
|Requirements for Marriage License in North Carolina
The license must be purchased in North Carolina. The license is valid in any county in the State of North Carolina,
but must be returned to the county in which it was issued.
Where to apply:
County Administration Building, Beaufort
Requirements for Marriage License in Carteret County
Fee: $50.00 Cash Only
All applicants must provide identification:
If you are 22 years of age or older acceptable identification would include:
1. Certified copy of Birth Certificate (this must be accompanied by a drivers license or picture I.D.)
3. Military ID Card
4. Drivers License
If you are between the ages of 18 and 22 you must provide both of the following:
1. Certified Copy of Birth Certificate
2. Drivers License or Picture I.D.
All applicants must provide their Social Security cards. If you do not have a card, a pay stub or W-2 Form may be used. If you have not
been assigned a number, an affidavit must be completed.
All applicants under 18 should contact the Register of Deeds Office at 252-728-8474 before applying.
Divorced applicants must provide the month and year of last divorce. It is best to bring a copy of your divorce papers
with you that is stamped showing the filing date just to be safe.
There is no waiting period after the license is issued, however it must be
used within 60 days or you will have to apply for another one.
We will then file your license for you showing signatures and proof of marriage.
Copies of your Marriage License may be acquired at our office in person or by mail at Register of Deeds, Courthouse Square, Beaufort,
NC 28516. Certified copies are $10.00. Please allow 10 business days after the wedding date to obtain Certified Copies.